Apprentice winners recognised by Scottish Minister


L to R, Fiona Harper, The Secretary of the SJIB, Jamie Hepburn, Stephen Berry, Blair Hendry, Elyse McBride, Jock Simpson, Chair of the SJIB and Gary Mason from Edmundson Electrical (Sponsors).         

At a recent event held in the Holyrood hotel, Jamie Hepburn, Minister for Business, Fair Work & Skills, presented awards to the three finalists of the SJIB/Edmundson Electrical Apprentice of the Year. The formal awards had been made at the SELECT industry awards evening on 12 October..

The Electrical Apprentice of the Year award encourages and rewards electrical apprentices who have demonstrated that they have attained the highest standard of academic and technical competence and displayed excellent personal qualities in their education and training.

The three finalists, not only exhibited extremely high levels of technical and academic expertise but also energy and enthusiasm, a good approach to team working, good communication skills, broad industry knowledge, strength and resolve and an ability to face and overcome challenges. They also benefitted from the support of their employers, trainers and SECTT, (The Scottish Electrical Charitable Training Trust) who runs the apprentice scheme on behalf of the SJIB.

Like all of their peers, these young people have worked hard to become fully qualified electricians, enabling them to carry out electrical work for their customers in a safe and competent manner.

The three finalists were:

Finalist                                 Employer

Blair Hendry*            Fife Council

Stephen Berry          Electrical Solutions Network (Ayr)

Elyse McBride        TClarke (Falkirk)

 *Blair Hendry won the Apprentice of the Year Award


Share this:Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on LinkedIn